Biography

Dr. Ohm Heavenly Creatures is a Darkwave / Electro / Dark Ambient band created by Dr. Ohm in 2004, whose style borrows from different streams of “Gothic” music such as Ambient, Folk, Neo-classical, Indus and Electro.

 

Dr. Ohm (aka. Richard Turek), born the 26th of June 1968 in Tübingen, Germany, is a classical trained composer and arranger, as well as a passionate engineer of electroacoustics, vintage synthesizers, and computers. Real key to everything, he is the poet's hand behind his machines and the heart and soul of Heavenly Creatures. The nickname Dr. Ohm is both a nod to the inventor of the unit of electrical resistance, as well as the famous series of British science fiction, Dr. Who (by reversing the letters).

 

Strongly influenced by the pioneers of electronic music such as Klaus Schulze, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre, Vangelis... And later by the New Wave scene of the 80's (The Sisters Of Mercy, The Cure, Bauhaus, Dead Can Dance, This Mortal Coil... ), Dr. Ohm designs Heavenly Creatures' music with both an intimate and dreamlike feeling to it, mixing acoustic and electronic instruments. The result is a dark but beautiful music, outside formats, yet accessible and catchy.

 

The music Heavenly Creatures notably served to illustrate documentaries, including a 52 minutes directed by François Freynet on the myth of the vampire (“Le vampire : mythe ou réalité ? Cine-Cinemas , 2008) and a soundtrack book (Morts Sûres” by Benoit Chavaneau, Juste Pour Lirepublishing , 2010)

 

As Heavenly Creatures is a concept, there are no definite group members. However, regular collaborations took place with some independent artists on the international gothic scene, as with Dae Noctem (lead singer of Era Nocturna ), Andra Dare and Alex Taylor & The Evil Eye, who participated in the album “New Blood Parts I & II”.

 

 

 

© 2013 Heavenly Creatures - All Rights Reserved - Webdesign by Richard Turek

Biographie

Dr. Ohm Heavenly Creatures est un groupe de musique Darkwave / Electro / Dark Ambient crée par Dr. Ohm en 2004, dont le style emprunte aux différents courants de la musique dite “gothique” tels que l’Ambient, le Folk, le néo-classique, l’Indus et l’Electro.


Dr. Ohm (de son vrai nom Richard Turek), né le 26 juin 1968 à Tübingen en Allemagne, est un compositeur et arrangeur de formation classique, également ingénieur du son passionné d’électroacoustique, de synthétiseurs “vintage” et d’ordinateurs. Véritable touche à tout, il est la main du poète derrière ses machines et le coeur et l’âme de Heavenly Creatures. Le pseudo Dr. Ohm est à la fois un clin d’oeil à l’inventeur de l’unité de résistance électrique, ainsi qu’à la célèbre série de science-fiction britannique, Dr. Who (en renversant les lettres).


Fortement influencé par les pionniers de la musique électronique tels que Klaus Schulze, Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, Jean-Michel Jarre, Vangelis... , et plus tard par la scène New-Wave des années 80 (The Sisters Of Mercy, The Cure, Bauhaus, Dead Can Dance, This Mortal Coil...), Dr. Ohm conçoit la musique de Heavenly Creatures dans un esprit à la fois intimiste et onirique, en mélangeant instruments acoustiques et électroniques. Il en résulte une musique d’une beauté sombre, hors formats, mais pourtant accessible et accrocheuse.


La musique d’Heavenly Creatures a notamment servi à illustrer des documentaires, dont un 52 minutes réalisé par François Freynet sur le mythe du vampire (Le vampire : mythe ou réalite ? Ciné-Cinémas, 2008) ainsi qu’une bande originale de livre (“Morts Sûres”, éditions Juste Pour Lire, 2010)

 

Comme Heavenly Creatures est un concept, les membres du groupe sont à géométrie variable. Toutefois, des collaborations régulières ont eu lieu avec quelques artistes indépendants de la scène gothique internationale, comme avec Dae Noctem, (chanteuse du groupe Era Nocturna), Andra Dare et Alex Taylor & The Evil Eye, qui ont participé à l’album “New Blood Parts I & II.”

 

 

 

 

© 2013 Heavenly Creatures - All Rights Reserved - Webdesign by Richard Turek